Tank Engine Thomas Again – Rev. W. Awdry

More in the Series – The Railway Series
“More in the Series” scores the other books in a series where one (or more) of the books have made it into the 1001 Books list. Mostly because I’m a bit of a completionist. 

POINTS: 2 out of 10.

Bechdel: 0 points
Variety of characters: 0 points
Good story: 2 points.
Discretionary ideological points: 0 points.

This is the second Thomas book in the series, and is, in my opinion, slightly more entertaining. The story in which Thomas accidentally goes fishing and ends up with fish in his boiler, which his humans remedy by pulling out their fishing rods and having a little fish barbecue by the side of the rails is so ludicrous it’s actually kind of entertaining.

Also, for the first time, there are female characters: Thomas coaches, Annie and Clarabel! They’re persnickety women, it seems, and while they are two entities they behave like one, having joint dialogue and no real distinct personalities, but hey, we can’t have everything.

There is still some dodgy class stuff going on with the Fat Controller refusing to take part i the fishing, but he does hang out with them while the fishing is happening, so that’s something I suppose. And in the story about the snow, Thomas learns an important lesson about using his safety equipment, which I suppose is good.

Generally, I prefer this book to the three we’ve already read, but that’s not a high bar. All my prior complaints about the Thomas phenomenon stand. I still, if I have to read a book over and over, would rather it wasn’t one of these. But this one is the best of the lot so far, and so I have given it an extra point.

What do you think? Have you been exposed to as much Sodor as I have? Do you have a preferred Railway Series story?

One thought on “Tank Engine Thomas Again – Rev. W. Awdry

  1. I haven’t read the books but my friends tell me that if they want to have a good time they put some of the old episodes on. I get so revved up and frustrated at the narratives and the way in which the narratives basically punish anyone who is different or tries to operate outside the mould. And do not get me started on the “bad” black diesel engines!

    Like

Leave a Reply

