Green Eggs and Ham – Dr. Seuss

POINTS: 3 out of 10.

Bechdel:  0 points
Variety of characters: 0 points
Good story: 2 points
Discretionary ideological points: 1 point

I unashamedly adore this book. It’s another one that fails dismally while being totally wonderful. No female characters, no diversity to speak of.

But dude, it’s GREEN EGGS AND HAM.

I’ll admit that this is such a staple in my household that C and I are prone to break out into it at random times. When it’s raining: “I do not like this rain. I do not like it Sam-I-Am.” When he doesn’t want to eat something: “Would you like it with a goat?” It’s a bit of a thing. So of course it gets the good story points from both of us.

And I’m giving it an ideology point for the “don’t knock it till you try it” message, which, thank all the gods, my kidlet seems to have internalised. He’s a bit of a fussy eater, so anything that gets him to try new things is good in my book. That’s how we got to “carrots are actually kind of okay”.

Plus there’s the awesome rhyming, and the fact that it is both catchy and funny. It makes C laugh with delight still, after multiple readings, and I can cite it when he won’t try something which moves the conversation away from being a battle into something we’re in on together, which is always good.

So despite the low score, I still heartily recommend the book. But of course, you’ve all read it already haven’t you? 😉

Leave a Reply

