The Dangerous Journey – Tove Jansson

More in the Series – Moomin Valley
“More in the Series” scores the other books in a series where one (or more) of the books have made it into the 1001 Books list. Mostly because I’m a bit of a completionist. 

POINTS: 2 out of 10.

Bechdel: 0 points
Variety of characters: 0 points
Good story:  2 points
Discretionary ideological points: 0 points.

Okay, I really am loving these books. This one, much like the last, somewhat defies the categories I’ve set up here, and so it scores lower than it deserves. It’s like gorgeous fairy-tale nonsense. And an utter delight.

While the main character, Susanna, is a named female character, none of the characters she has actual dialogue with seem to be. So I haven’t passed it on the Bechdel. Like the earlier books, I can’t really pass it on diversity, but it doesn’t exactly fail either, since it is diverse, the diversity just lies in a variety of totally fantastical beasties that don’t really map onto real-world diversity.

But the story is marvellous, and C and I both loved it (as did the little boy from next door who happened to be visiting at story-time, and so got to join in). I really think I may have to get us a set of these books for home, because they are so delightful and fun to read.

I’m not sure I can point to any particular ideological things – I am sure they’re there, because that is the neature of text. There is some stuff about the power of imagination, and that whole “be careful what you wish for” thing. There’s also some good solid stuff about taking care of each other, and of those smaller/weaker/less powerful than you, which is good.

But mostly it’s just a great little story. Recommended.

Leave a Reply

