Freight Train – Donald Crews

POINTS: 2 out of 10.

Bechdel: 0 points
Variety of characters: 0 points
Good story:  2 points
Discretionary ideological points: 0 points.

This book really has no characters, so it can’t pass any of the character based metrics. It does make me wonder a bit, not for the first time, about how the people who wrote this list worked out the age ranges. I’d say realistically this book would be great for much younger kids.

C liked it, because, well, trains, and he’s a fan, but it’s really about colours and simple illustrations. I’d say it would be awesome for a 2/3 year old rather than a 3-5.

It is super simple. A train on a track in rainbow colours. I mean it was kinda fun for us, because C tried to read it to me (which he is just learning to do now, which is SO NEAT YOU GUYS), but it was really a bit young for him.

No real story to speak of, so there’s not a lot I can say about it. I think he’d have LOVED it at a younger ago. From our point of view in this project though, there’s not much going on there. There is much to be said for simple books aimed at very young children, but there’s not a lot of discussion you can have about the ideology of a steam train in rainbow colours going through a tunnel.

I suppose if I wanted to, I could choose to interpret the rainbow in a LGBTQ way, but honestly I think it’s really more that kids like to learn colours. 😛

Good for what it is.

 

 

Leave a Reply

