Miffy in the Snow – Dick Bruna

More in the Series – Miffy
“More in the Series” scores the other books in a series where one (or more) of the books have made it into the 1001 Books list. Mostly because I’m a bit of a completionist. 

POINTS: 2 out of 10.

Bechdel: 0 points
Variety of characters: 0 points
Good story:  2 point
Discretionary ideological points: 0 point.

This is so much better than the original Miffy book. SO MUCH BETTER. Even still, though, it fails almost every metric. Miffy herself is the only named character in the book (unless you count “Mummy”, but she makes no appearance except implicitly (calling her in because it’s bedtime), so it still fails, even if you do count her).

They’re all bunnies, so no diversity really, either. And the story is… well… fairly underwhelming.

It snows. Miffy plays in the snow. There is a sad cold bird. Miffy makes sad cold bird a house. The end. Meh. I mean, I suppose you could argue for “look how nice she was to the bird”. It is quite nice to build a house for one poor cold bird, I suppose, and that sort of construction is pretty clever for a bunny-child who is portrayed as being pretty little.

That all said, I wasn’t wildly impressed. It’s significantly better than the original Miffy book, which I panned. This was at least kind of fun to read and I didn’t feel the need to correct things in conversation. Not going to be challenging any status quos though, and honestly I still find the world of  Miffy a bit saccharine.

The pictures are cute though, and I like the simple boldness of it. If I’m honest, I would probably have rated this higher if I hadn’t read the first one first.

If you must read Miffy, better this than the other. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

