Love from the Very Hungry Caterpillar – Eric Carle

Christopher’s Choice: Each week, C gets four or five books out of the library, and picks one as his favourite, and I review it. This is this week’s choice.

POINTS: 3 out of 10.

Bechdel: 0 points
Variety of characters: 0 points
Good story:  2 points
Discretionary ideological points: 1 point

This is some truly Hallmark shit y’all. *grin* But when I asked my son to pick his favourite, and he picked this and I asked him why he said, “Because love is really nice”, and honestly, I can’t argue with that. Especially now, when we could all use a little more love, I think.

It doesn’t pass any Bechdel or diversity tests, because the only character is the caterpillar. There is no story, really. This is very much a gift book, based on the Hungry Caterpillar franchise. The text is all cutesy love stuff. “You make my heart flutter” accompanied by the picture of the butterfly and suchlike. There’s not much to it.

Having said that, though, my sweet kid likes it because “love is really nice”. And I cant help but be proud that my five year old feels that way.

So you know what, screw my usual eye-rolling cynicism about this kind of saccharine stuff. The world is a dark place, and we could all use a bit of love. So here it is. In big, gorgeous collaged letters. Let’s celebrate people who make the sun shine brighter.

Love.

It’s an imperative. 😉

Leave a Reply

